Tuesday, February 01, 2005

Spoon Me!

From www.pitchfork.com

We've finally got the scoop, baby-- Spoon's fifth long player, now-finally-entitled Gimme Fiction, is complete and set to be released May 10 via Merge Records, the band's home since 2000's Loveways EP. And we don't want to blow our cred and sound like fanboys (and girls) or anything here, but we're pretty fucking excited. Yeah, like Who's The Boss on DVD excited. Star Jones at a seafood buffet excited. Sexually excited. And so should you be: Spoon have been rockin' hips consistently since the mid-90s, when Telephono sprang fully-formed from Texas' sole indie hotness hotbed, Austin. Then Britt Daniel and the boys went big time with their second album, got screwed by their record company, wrote a couple songs about it, and eventually ended up on Merge, which really is probably for the best, as it led to 2003's Kill The Moonlight, the band's so-far masterpiece.
But, you know, it's going on three years since Moonlight dropped, and unlike that record, which was released a year after 2001's Girls Can Tell and felt relaxed and maybe even a bit rushed, the band has laboured over Gimme Fiction, with little to no word on the proceedings. Aside from periodically released demos or videos taken from sessions, there was little to tide over the band's rabid fans. But with Merge issuing the new record soon, we're left with a tidy couple of months to repress our big boy crush on Daniel and sharpen our ears for what'll hopefully be a corker. Oh, and we also have a tracklist:

01 The Beast and Dragon, Adored
02 The Two Sides of Monsieur Valentine
03 I Turn My Camera On
04 My Mathematical Mind
05 The Delicate Place
06 Sister Jack
07 I Summon You
08 The Infinite Pet
09 Was It You?
10 They Never Got You
11 Merchants of Soul

You may have noticed the band's name in our Coachella report yesterday, cleverly hidden among the Coldplays, NINs (our backwards "N" is at the cleaners), and Bright Eyes. That, so far, is the only performance Spoon has announced for 2005, but we think you know that we know that you know that they know that that won't be it. Follow?

* Pitchfork Review: Spoon: Kill the Moonlight
* Spoon: http://www.spoontheband.com
* Merge Records: http://www.mergerecords.com


Post a Comment

<< Home